Header Ads Widget



GENERAL KNOWLEDGE- Questions and Answers -53

1301. Whose death coincided with the launch of the Non-cooperation Movement in 1920?
(A) Dadabhai Naoroji                           (B) Lokmanya Tilak
(C) GK Gokhale                                        (D) Motilal Nehru
Answer (b)

1302. After the Bardoli Satyagraha, the title of ‘Sardar’ to Vallabhbhai Patel was given by
(A) Jawaharlal Nehru                           (B) Motilal Nehru
(C) Mahatma Gandhi                             (D) Maulana Abul Kalam Azad
Answer (c)

1303. Do or Die was one of the most powerful slogans of India’s freedom struggle. Who gave it?
(A)  Gandhiji                                             (B) J. L. Nehru
(C) Bal Gangadhar Tilak                         (D) Subhash Chandra Bose
Answer (a)

1304. Dadabhai Naoroji was the first Indian to be appointed as a Professor at Elphinstone College in
(A) Mumbai           (B) London              
(C) Delhi                   (D) Stuttgart
Answer (a)

1305. Who founded the Deccan Education Society to impart teachings about India culture to India’s youth?
(A) Dadabhai Naoroji                          (B) Lokmanya Tilak
(C) Motilal Nehru                                  (D) C Rajagopalachari
Answer (b)

1306. With which of the following leaders is Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel equated?
(A) Martin Luther                                     (B) Bismarck
(C) Cavour                                                   (D) Garibaldi
Answer (b)

1307. Aruna Asaf Ali was associated with which one of the following?
(A) Bardoli Satyagraha                                        (B) Civil Disobedience Movement
(C) Khilafat Movement                                       (D) Quit India Movement
Answer (d)

1308. Which of the following newspapers was started by Motilal Nehru in 1919?
(A) Voice of India                                        (B) The Leader
(C) Young India                                           (D) Independent
Answer (d)

1309. Three of the following were awarded the Bharat Ratna in the same year.
Who was awarded much later?
(A) C Rajagopalachari                                        (B) S Radhakrishnan
(C) Abul Kalam Azad                                            (D) C V Raman
Answer (c)

1310. In which year was the Banaras Hindu University established by Pt Madan
Mohan Malviya?
(A)1914           (B) 1916                   
(C) 1919                          (D) 1920
Answer (b)

1311. When was First War of Independence fought?
(a) 1757                     (b) 1857                
(c) 1957                 (d) None of these
Answer (b)

1312. What is 1757 famous for?
(a) Battle of Panipat                                     (b) Battle of Plassey
(c) First War of Independence                   (d) Birth of Mahatma Gandhi
Answer (b)

1313. Who was the chairman of All Parties Conference which put up a draft
constitution recommending full dominion status for India?
(a) Motilal Nehru                                            (b) Dadabhai Naoroji
(c) Lala Lajpat Rai                                            (d) Rajagopalachari
Answer (a)

1314. Who was elected the first President of All India Trade Union Congress in 1920?
(a) Gopal Krishna Gokhale                                  (b) Bal Gangadhar Tilak
(c) Lala Lajpat Rai                                                  (d) Dadabhai Naoroji
Answer (c)

1315. Whom did Mahatma Gandhi regard as his heir?
(a) Indira Gandhi           (b) Subhas Chandra Bose
(c) Jawaharlal Nehru   (d) Rajagopalachari
Answer (c)

1316. Who is the hero of Quit India Movement?
(a) Mahatma Gandhi                                                 (b) Jawaharlal Nehru
(c) Subhash Chandra Bose                                      (d) Jaiprakash Narain
Answer (d)

1317. In 1905, who founded the Servants of India Society, aimed at promoting
education, sanitation, health care as well as fighting social evils?
(a) Lokmanya Tilak                                                 (b) G K Gokhale
(c) Frontier Gandhi                                                (d) Lala Lajpat Rai
Answer (b)

1318. Lala Lajpat Rai died as a result of injuries during the protest against the visit of –
(a) King George V                                                  (b) Simon Commission
(c) Cripps Mission                                                  (d) Queen Victoria
Answer (b)

1319. Who did not agree with Mahatma Gandhi's policy of non-violence?
(a) Jaiprakash Narain                           (b) Subhash Chandra Bose
(c) Bhagat Singh                                       (d) All of the above
Answer (b)

1320. Whose father also became President of the Indian National Congress?
(a) Mahatma Gandhi                                     (b) Subhash Chandra Bose
(c) Jawaharlal Nehru                                  (d) None of the above
Answer (c)

1321. Which lady became the President of the Indian National Congress?
(a) Kasturba Gandhi                                   (b) Sucheta Kriplani
(c) Sarojini Naidu                                      (d) None of the above
Answer (c)

1322. Which Englishmen are responsible for the independence of India?
(a) Elmund Burke             (c) Hume                     
(b) Macaulay               (d) All of the above
Answer (d)

1323. Match the parties with their founders
Party                                                                            Founder
1. Swatantra Party                                               a. Lala Lajpat Rai
2. Congress Independence Party                     b. Motilal Nehru
3. Swaraj Party                                                      c. C Rajagopalachari
(A) 1-c; 2-b; 3-c                                                        (B) 1-b; 2-a; 3-c
(C) 1-a; 2-c; 3-b                                                        (D) 1-c; 2-a; 3-b
Answer (d)

1324. Who was one of the main organizers of the Dharasana Satyagraha in 1931, which was a non-violent raid on Dharasana Salt Works?
(a) Madan M Malaviya                                           (b) Lokmanya Tilak
(c) Abul Kalam Azad                                                (d) C Rajagopalachari
Answer (c)

1325. Who were predecessors of the Indian National Congress?
(a) Indian Association                                      (b) British Indian Association
(c) Both                                                                    (d) Neither
Answer (c)
<Previous ><01, .... 505152, 53, 54, 55, .....899091><Next >

Facts about Kerala - Questions and Answers Click here
Kerala Renaissance - Questions and Answers Click here
Facts about India -Questions and Answers Click here
Modern India- Questions & Answers Click here
Social Welfare Schemes and Measures - Questions and Answers Click here
Rural Development Programmes - Questions and Answers Click here
Graduate Level Questions and Answers Click here
Related Links
1. CURRENT AFFAIRS ---> Click here

Post a Comment