Header Ads Widget



GENERAL KNOWLEDGE- Questions and Answers -52

1276. Who founded the Deccan Education Society to impart teachings about India culture to India’s youth?
(A) Dadabhai Naoroji      (B) Lokmanya Tilak
(C) Motilal Nehru            (D) C Rajagopalachari
Answer (b)

1277. Who was the first woman President of Congress ?
(A) Mrs. Annie Besant                                 (B) Mrs. Sarojini Naidu
(C) Mrs. Nellie Sengupta                               (D) Aruna Asaf Ali
Answer: A

1278. Who was the Chairman of the Partition Council ?
(A) M. A. Jinnah                          (B) Lord Mountabatten
(C) Jawaharlal Nehru                       (D) V. P. Menon
Answer: B

1279. Which of the following newspapers was started by Motilal Nehru in 1919?
(A) Voice of India                             (B) The Leader
(C) Young India                                     (D) Independent
Answer (D)

1280. Three of the following were awarded the Bharat Ratna in the same year. Who was awarded much later?
(A) C Rajagopalachari                                    (B) S Radhakrishnan
(C) Abul Kalam Azad                                       (D) CV Raman
Answer (c) 

1281. The Simon Commission which came to India in February 1928 was boycotted because ?
(A) All its members were Englishmen
(B) At that time a large number of Nationalist leaders were in prison
(C) The Chairman Sir John Simon was very unpopular
(D) The Montague-Chelmsford reforms had failed
Answer: A

1282. Simon Commission was boycotted by Indian, because—
(A) None of the members was Indian
(B) There was no representative of the labour party
(C) It was meant for the division of India
(D) It was headed by General Dyer
Answer: A

1283. In which year was the Banaras Hindu University established by Pt Madan Mohan Malviya?
(A) 1914      (B) 1916             
(C) 1919            (D) 1920
Answer (b)

1284. Who was the chairman of All Parties Conference which put up a draft constitution recommending full dominion status for India?
(A) Motilal Nehru                               (B) Dadabhai Naoroji
(C) Lala Lajpat Rai                             (D) Rajagopalachari
Answer (a)

1285. Which of the following is not correctly matched ?
(A) The Government of India Act, 1919 — Minto-Morley Reforms
(B) The Cripps Mission—year 1942
(C) The Government of India Act, 1935 — Provincial Autonomy
(D) The Cabinet Mission Plan year, 1946
Answer: A

1286. Which one of the following towns was captured by the Indian National Army in March, 1944 ?
(A) Agartala               (B) Aizwal      
(C) Digboi                (D) Kohima
Answer: D

1287. The Constituent Assembly was set up under the—
(A) Cripps Mission                          (B) Cabinet Mission Plan
(C) Wavell Plan                                     (D) Nehru Report
Answer: B

1288. In 1923, who of the following became the youngest person to be elected the President of the Indian National Congress?
(A) Motilal Nehru                                       (B) Abul Kalam Azad
(C) Lala Lajpat Rai                                       (D) M M Malaviya
Answer (b)

1289. Who was elected the first President of All India Trade Union Congress in 1920?
(A) Gopal Krishna Gokhale                              (B) Bal Gangadhar Tilak
(C) Lala Lajpat Rai                                                (D) Dadabhai Naoroji
Answer (c) 

1290. In 1905, who founded the Servants of India Society, aimed at promoting education, sanitation, health care as well as fighting social evils?
(A) Lokmanya Tilak                                 (B) G K Gokhale
(C) Frontier Gandhi                                  (D) Lala Lajpat Rai
Answer: (b)

1291. Which one of the following pairs is not correctly matched ?
(A) Ghadar Movement — Shohan Singh Bhakna
(B) Kisan Movement — Lala Lajpat Rai
(C) Hindustan Republic Association — Sachendra Nath Sanyal
(D) Hindu Dharma Sanrakshini Sabha — Madan Mohan Malviya
Answer: (b)

1292. Consider the following statements—
1. Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru hoisted the National Flag on 31st December, 1929 at Lahore.
2. Independence day was observed on 26th January, 1930 all over India.
Which of the statements given above is/are correct ?
(A) 1 only                              (B) 2 only                    
(C) Both 1 and 2                 (D) Neither 1 nor 2
Answer: (c)

1293. Lala Lajpat Rai died as a result of injuries during the protest against the visit of –
(A) King George V                               (B) Simon Commission
(C) Cripps Mission                                   (D) Queen Victoria
Answer (b)

1294. Who of the following was considered by the British to be The Father of Indian Unrest?
(A) Gopal Krishna Gokhale                          (B) Lokmanya Tilak
(C ) Lala Lajpat Rai                                        (D) Madan Mohan Malaviya
Answer (b)

1295. Who succeeded Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel as the 2nd Home minister of India?
(A) Abul Kalam Azad                                  (B) Madan Mohan Malaviya
(C) C Rajagopalachari                                    (D) None of the above
Answer (c)

1296. Who was one of the main organizers of the Dharasana Satyagraha in 1931, which was a non-violent raid on Dharasana Salt Works?
(A) Madan M Malaviya                                            (B) Lokmanya Tilak
(C) Abul Kalam Azad                                                 (D) C Rajagopalachari
Answer (c) 

1297. Gyan Prasarak Mandali, an organization dedicated to the education of the adult was formed by –
(A) G K Gokhale                                           (B) M M Malviya
(C) Dadabhai Naoroji                                    (D) Lokmanya Tilak
Answer (c)

1298. In which language was Kesari, a newspaper started by Bal Gangadhar Tilak published?
(A) Marathi           (B) Hindi             
(C) English        (D) Both (B) and (C)
Answer (a)

1299. Hitavada, the newspaper started by Gopal Krishna Gokhale in 1911 was initially published from –
(A) Mumbai               (B) Pune            
(C) Sholapur             (D) Nagpur
Answer (d)

1300. From which place did Madan Mohan Malaviya publish his famous newspaper The Leader?
(A) Allahabad              (B) Banaras               
(C) Aligarh             (D) Delhi
Answer (a)
<Previous ><01, .... 495051, 52, 53, 54, .....899091><Next >

Facts about Kerala - Questions and Answers Click here
Kerala Renaissance - Questions and Answers Click here
Modern India- Questions & Answers Click here
Social Welfare Schemes and Measures - Questions and Answers Click here
Rural Development Programmes - Questions and Answers Click here
Graduate Level Questions and Answers Click here
Related Links
1. CURRENT AFFAIRS ---> Click here

Post a Comment